72 hour bug out bag (part 1)

ImageThis world is a scary place to live in. Like, really scary. Besides all of that “government conspiracy” stuff (don’t be naive – it’s out there), there’s all kinds of natural disasters that threaten to happen at any given time. Think about it – the hurricanes, tsunami’s, tornado’s, earthquakes, etc. Honestly, I’m freaked out about something happening like this and not being prepared. Living in St. Louis, we are pretty much right on the New Madrid Fault and I can see us having a devastating earthquake at any time .. and with no warning!

I’ve always been afraid, and even after the countless times we have been counseled by my church to have our emergency food and supply storage ready, I’ve still somehow found a way to put it on the back burner. Then one day my husband discovered the show Jericho on Netflix (Have you seen it? If not, I highly recommend it.) Guys, the events that happened in that show could realistically happen. It’s not far fetched at all. And after watching that show and realizing it – I got scared. Really scared. So I finally jumped on board with the whole emergency preparedness thing.

Image

My church has always taught us to be prepared by having at least a 1 year supply of food and other daily necessities. But, that can be very overwhelming! So that’s why they encourage you to take baby steps. Start with just a 72 hour kit and then build it up from there, 3 months at a time. Much easier, right? So that’s exactly what I’ve decided to do. I started out with 72 hour kits for each member of our family. Daddy Vader and I like to call them “bug out bags”. 

Image

I don’t know about you guys, but I can’t do anything without a list. And since I get overwhelmed very easy – I even had to break the 72 hour kit into two parts because its just too much for me to think of all at once. So I decided to start out by making a list of what food we needed for the kits. Prepared Not Scared is an excellent website with a ton of information, tips, and DIY guides when it comes to preparedness. It’s definitely my go-to site for all things emergency preparedness. I also tried to keep in mind that I have small children who still depend on their parents a lot. What would they do if they were somehow separated from us?? What if they were all by themselves and all they had was this small little book bag full of essentials? I pray that never happens, but it helped me make sure their bags were kid friendly and easy to use! I also tried to think of food that could be opened easily or used little to no preparation. Easy enough for the girls to do by themselves. I also tried to make it as light as possible, because if the girls are going to have to carry their own bags [what if we had to backpack in the woods? You NEVER know!] it has to be light enough!

After making my list, the family and I hit up our local Wal-Mart! This is what we ended up with:

IMG_7299-2

 IMG_7302-3

Then I got to work, dividing the loot. I divided to so that each back would have the same amount of stuff [lets just eliminate the fighting now.. I can see it already..] and the extras ended up in the pantry. Here’s what I put in each of the bags:

Day 1

Breakfast: Protein Bar
Lunch:
Ramen [These can be eaten without being cooked. I know, gross, but hey its food.]
Dinner:
Beefaroni
Snack: gum, 2 sticks of beef jerky, lemonade packet

Day 2

Breakfast: Peanut Butter & Crackers
Lunch: Spaghetti & Meatballs

Dinner: 
Ramen 
Snack:
gum, 2 sticks of beef jerky, 1 box of raisins, trail mix

Day 3

Breakfast: Protein Bar
Lunch: 
Tuna & Crackers
Dinner: 
Ravioli
Snack:
gum, 2 sticks of beef jerky, 1 box raisins, trail mix, lemonade packet

72 hour food kit

This is what the food portion of our kit looks like. There are five bags total – one for each of us. Now, if there is ever an emergency and we have to evacuate IMMEDIATELY all we have to do is grab our bags and as much water as we possibly can [if we can] and BUG OUT! It’s not finished yet, but we would at least have our food ready to go. The next step in the 72 hour kit is to get all of the other daily essentials which I will blog about after I gather it all myself. Stay tuned for part 2!

One thought on “72 hour bug out bag (part 1)

  1. Aaron and I think about this stuff too! For us it’s not just about major disasters (which we count as a possibility) but also, like you said, what if something happens to us in a tornado or we got separated in a snow storm? I’d want Josiah to know just where the necessities were.

Leave a Reply

